RSS

I have a problem with tense when I use “if”. What am I doing wrong?

26 Dec

This is actually quite complicated, but I will give you the simplified version that is taught to people learning English as a second language. (Information adapted from A Basic English Grammar with Exercises by John Eastwood and Ronald Mackin, Oxford University Press 1988.)

When you use if you are usually starting a conditional clause — also called an adverbial clause of condition or an IF-clause. You do this to show cause and effect, or what MIGHT happen if something else happens. There are three main kinds of IF-clause:

1. Type 1: IF + simple present tense, then + will, can, may/might.

We use Type 1 to talk about future situations that the speaker thinks are PROBABLE.

We also use Type 1 but with PRESENT TENSE + PRESENT TENSE* to talk about things that are ALWAYS TRUE. Some grammarians call this the ZERO CONDITIONAL or Type 0.

  • If you leave before 10, you‘ll catch the train.
  • If you don’t hurry, you might miss it.
  • That bowl will break if you drop it.
  • I can get some more milk if there isn’t enough.
  • *If you mix blue and yellow, you get green. (Zero Conditional)
  • 2. Type 2: IF + simple past tense, then + would, could or might.

    We use Type 2 to talk about future situations the speaker thinks are POSSIBLE but NOT VERY PROBABLE. We also use Type 2 to talk about UNREAL SITUATIONS in the present.

  • If we saved $2000, we‘d have enough for a new computer.
  • We might save enough if you got another job.
  • If I were* rich, I‘d travel around the world.
  • We could buy a new car if you didn’t spend so much on clothes.
  • * “If I were rich” means I am not rich. We sometimes say “If I was rich” here, but careful writers will say “If I were rich.” The were here is not plural; it is what is left of the English subjunctive mood, which was the one you chose to express probability/improbability or certainty/uncertainty. If you study Latin or French long enough you will find the subjunctive more fully developed in those languages.

    3. Type 3: IF + past perfect (or pluperfect) tense (had —–ed), then + WOULD HAVE, COULD HAVE or MIGHT HAVE.

    We use Type 3 to talk about PAST SITUATIONS THAT DID NOT HAPPEN.

  • If it had rained yesterday, there wouldn’t have been many people there.
  • If I had studied harder, I would have got Band 6.
  • If you‘d asked me, I would have told you.
  • Peter would have rung if there‘d been anything wrong.
  • If I hadn’t been sick, I could have gone to the game.
  • There is more to this, but that gives a good start.

    * It is surprising how many native English speakers don’t know what they are doing when they make these changes; I know I didn’t until I had to teach newly arrived overseas students (adults) in a Language College way back in 1990! But the changes are important, as they actually change what the IF-sentence means.

    For more on tense, go here.
    For more on IF-clauses, go here, and keep going for a few more pages!
    To test your understanding, go here. Then go here then click on “Conditional Tenses”, or try this quiz.

    [COMMENT CLOSED because of spam. Please use the guest book.]

     
    Comments Off on I have a problem with tense when I use “if”. What am I doing wrong?

    Posted by on December 26, 2006 in English grammar, English language, questions asked, student help, writing

     

    Tags: , ,

    Comments are closed.