RSS

Daily Archives: May 26, 2007

Sorry Day and forty years of citizenship…

Adrian Phoon, among others, has remembered the significance for Australians of the past week. Two anniversaries coincide: the 1967 Referendum by which Aboriginal people would be included in the national census, which meant they would have the same citizen rights as other Australians. That was also the first year I voted. Naturally I voted “yes” along with over 90% of Australians. The second anniversary, of which Adrian speaks, is the ten years since the “Stolen Children” Report was published. That report has been attacked, but I think it stands up and remains the site of much unfinished business.

I have a whole page on related matters on my other blog.

Later

See on my personal site National Reconciliation Week 27 May – 3 June 2007.

 
Comments Off on Sorry Day and forty years of citizenship…

Posted by on May 26, 2007 in Australian

 

Tags: ,